Committees established under legislation

The committees are established under legislation that Council either manages or is a member of. 

3 Result(s) found

The Local Government Amendment (Governance and Planning) Act 2016 (s 428A) requires that Councils’ appoint an Audit, Risk and Improvement Committee. However, they are not required until 6 months after the next ordinary election of councillors. Despite this, Coffs Harbour City Council has decided to establish the committee, due to the benefits it provides to Council’s Governance arrangements.

The following have been appointed to this committee:

  • Mr Peter Van Der Eijk (Chair)
  • Mr Andrew MacLeod (Voting Member)
  • Mr Barry Ford (Voting Member)
  • Councillor Roger Pryce (Non-voting Councillor Member)
  • Councillor Sally Townley (Non-voting Councillor Member) 

Terms of Reference: Audit Risk and Improvement Committee(PDF, 319KB)

The Local Traffic Committee advises the City of Coffs Harbour on traffic related matters referred to it by Council. 

Transport for NSW is the organisation responsible for the control of traffic on all roads in NSW. In order to deal with the large number and range of traffic related matters effectively, Transport for NSW has delegated certain aspects of the control of traffic on local roads to councils.

Transport for NSW has retained both the control of traffic on the State's classified road network and the control of traffic signals on all roads.

The delegation to councils limits the types of prescribed traffic control devices and traffic control facilities that councils can authorise and imposes certain conditions on councils.

One of these conditions requires councils to obtain the advice of Transport for NSW and the Police prior to proceeding with any proposal. This is most commonly achieved by councils establishing a Local Traffic Committee.

The Local Traffic Committee is an advisory body only, having no decision making powers. It is, primarily, a technical review committee that is required to advise the Council on traffic related matters referred to it by Council.

The committee is composed of four formal members each with one vote.

These four members are a representative from Council, the Police, Transport for NSW and the Local State Member of Parliament or their nominee.

Several informal advisors also attend the Committee including Council officers such as road safety officers and compliance officers, representatives from bus companies, taxis, and other community stakeholders.

The committee addresses road safety, traffic, parking related matters as well as traffic management plans for events. The committee meets generally every two months. Their report is then tabled at the next appropriate Council meeting.

Councillor Scott Walgamot has been appointed to this committee.

Report an issue

You can report a roads, traffic or safety issue to the City of Coffs Harbour. We will assess your issue and share with you how it may be resolved. Not all issues will be referred to the Local Traffic Committee. Please see how to Report a roads or traffic issue

Traffic Management for Local Events

If you are organising a special event that has the potential to affect traffic or transport, you may have to submit a Traffic Management Plan (TMP) to the Local Traffic Committee to manage the risks and have your event approved.

For detailed information on road closures and traffic management head to the Coffs Coast Events website or see the Traffic Management Plan template provided by Transport for NSW.


Planning Panels operate across New South Wales to provide independent, merit-based decision making on regionally significant development. The Northern Reginal Planning Planning Panel is established under Schedule 2, Part 3, Clause 10 of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979. The Panels may also have a role in planning proposals, to undertake rezoning reviews or to act as the Planning Proposal Authority (PPA) when directed.

Councillors appointed to the Northern Regional Planning Panel are the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, the alternate member is Councillor George Cecato.

Planning Panels are managed by the NSW Government and more information are available on the Sydney and Regional Planning Panels webpage.

Page 1 of 1