Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

Grace Roberts Memorial Community Development Awards

2014 winner Clark Webb receives his award from Cr Bob Palmer


The presentation night was held at the Novotel Pacific Bay Resort on Saturday 29 November 2014.

The winners were:

•             Clark Webb – Grace Roberts Memorial Community Development Award
•             Kulai Pre-School Aboriginal Corporation – Aboriginal Community Organisation of the Year Award
•             Dianne Anthony – Aboriginal Community Worker of the Year Award

From Clark's nomination:

"Clark coordinates a homework centre - Bularri Muurlay Nyanggan at Wongala Estate. He also coordinates a Gumbaynggirr language workshop weekly at Wongala Estate. He is also involved with Coffs Harbour Aboriginal Social Events Aboriginal Corporation and the vice-chairperson of Galambila Health Service Inc.

"Clark is a young community leader who has and is making a very positive impact in the Aboriginal community. He is a role model for goori people but also for the broader community. He has vision, sincerity and clarity on how he delivers the programs and activities primarily to our young ones, who will also be future leaders of the community. Clark has an abundant of talent, skill and cultural knowledge that he is willing to share with everybody. He is very driven and committed in all that he does."

History of the Awards

Grace Roberts was a local Aboriginal woman who history records as being a positive role model for her people, and a person of great substance. She had a positive and lasting impact on Coffs Harbour's local community and is recognised for her leadership and guidance.  From her determination, and be example, she improved the quality of life for Aboriginal people in our City.

Council and the Yandaarra Aboriginal Consultative Committee launched the Grace Roberts Community Development Award in 1999 to acknowledge individuals who like Grace Roberts have made a significant contribution to enhancing the quality of life of Aboriginal people in the Coffs Harbour area.

The Grace Roberts Community Development Award began its prestigious history because local Aboriginal people wanted to recognise individuals or a group within their community who encompassed the qualities of Grace Roberts.  Recipients of the Award since its launch have been Anita Craig, Daphne Flanders, Sue Hoskins, Barry Hoskins, Trevor Wilson, Christine Robinson, Bea Ballangarry, Harry Mumbulla, Julie Carey, Mark Flanders and the 2013 recipient Reuben Robinson.

All have demonstrated their willingness and strength to develop and help their community.

For further details please contact Lloyd Lynwood on 6648 4850.